Shrimp, Crab & Okra Gumbo

the fashionista cook

This is the first recipe I decided to try from the book I just bought, Fresh From The Source. We had some dinner quests and since this serves 6-10 I thought would be perfect. I made a couple of changes, I couldn’t find the spice gumbo filet (Whole Foods ran out) so I added cajun spice instead, I also roasted the shrimp ahead of time.

2 pounds of medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/2 pound of fresh crab meat

1 cup of okra, cut into small pieces

1 small can of tomato paste

1 large yellow onion, chopped fine

3 talks of celery, chopped fine

1 red and 1 green pepper, chopped fine

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 large tomatoes, chopped

salt, pepper and cayenne pepper to taste

3 quarts of water

1/2 cup of chopped parsley

1/2 cup of chopped green scallions (onion tops)

2 tablespoons of gumbo…

View original post 166 more words

Leave a Reply

